The Heat Is On

High temperatures throughout the country belie the fact that it is not officially summer yet. The humidity makes the heat worse and tempers shorter. What a summer it is going to be with flood and tornado recoveries, as well as drought! It is time to think about keeping the stove unused: grill out more, pick up ready-made potato salad, make lots of green and fruit salads, and squeeze some refreshing lemonade.

Recipe: Chicken Salad

2 to 3 cups diced leftover chicken or precooked chicken strips
mayonnaise (or Miracle Whip)
salt and pepper to taste
Mrs. Dash’s Garlic and Herb Seasoning
1/2 c. diced onion (optional)
1/2 c. chopped celery
1/2 c. diced apple
1/4 c. chopped pecans or walnuts (optional)
1/4 c. raisins or dried cranberries (optional)

Directions: Mix all ingredients together in medium bowl. The mayo moistens the chicken and binds the other ingredients, so the amount needed depends on how gooey you want it to be. Begin with a couple heaping tablespoons. Serve in large, scooped-out tomatoes or on toast. Or make sandwiches with crescent rolls and lettuce. Keep refrigerated.

 

 

 

 

Thought of the Week: The sexual antics and lies of those in power and the limelight no longer surprise me. These idiots deserve the full-blown scorn and comedic ridicule of the late-night talk shows. They are further, and more devastatingly, punished for their selfish and thoughtless acts by tearing their families apart and ruining their careers. Public life means constant public scrutiny – duh!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Heat Is On

  1. Jenni says:

    This recipe sounds great Monnie! I don’t have any good chicken salad recipes, so I might have to try it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

