Manners and Sizes

*Manners matter. Without good manners people are slobs, regardless of their monetary circumstances or appearance. Saying please, thank you, and excuse me are essentials that should be taught to children as soon as they can feed themselves. Also, at that time, they should be instructed in holding their fork and spoon like a pencil/pen. If parents eat with their mouths closed and do not talk while they are chewing, their children will most likely follow suit. These manners may seem simple, but take a few minutes and observe people in public, as well as at family gatherings. Good manners can take one far in life.

*Speaking of children…It is very rude and irresponsible of adults to allow children to misbehave in public, especially disrupting the dining experience of others. Children having tantrums or just being unruly in public show others that they are in control and do not have any guidelines by which to adhere. Restaurant owners/managers may have the right to ask patrons to leave for whatever they deem inappropriate behavior, however, they seldom do. Is it going to become necessary to post a sign in every public building asking people to take noisy children outside, like they do at theaters? How utterly thoughtless of people to not respect others, to be incompetent parents, and to not know what is unacceptable behavior in public! Ignoring bad conduct is condoning it.

*At some point in the future, probably not so distant, books/magazines/papers will cease to be printed on paper. Will bookstores and libraries vanish? Yikes! I better add going to the Library of Congress and the New York Public Library to my bucket list. Only one good thing, that I can see, can come out of e-books, e-zines, e-papers, and Kindles: Forests will thrive again.

*Finding clothes that fit is a real hassle for women. Believe it or not, everyone does not have the same body type – really! (Do you sense my snideness?) Clothes that fit skinny models and movie stars do not fit most of the female population. I understand that clothing manufacturers cannot possibly cater to every size anomaly, but surely they can do better than they have been since the ready-to-wear market began in the late 1800’s. In skirts/shorts/pants a size 12 is too big for me, but size 10 is too tight in the waist. I’m long-waisted, for which most dresses are not made; I wear separates and the tops are a larger size than the bottoms. It’s very inconvenient. I wish some entrepreneur would design/manufacture fashions that fit the waistless, buttless body…At one time Levi’s in San Francisco had a program where you could go to their store and be measured for perfect-fit jeans. What a concept! There is a Levi’s location in Sugarland, TX, but they do not offer Plus or Petite fittings. Here are three websites currently offering custom fittings:  http://store.levi.com/curveidappt/  http://www.mimijackson.com/  http://creativelysewn.bravehost.com/ . Or you could learn to sew for yourself – ugh! Although I sewed my own clothes for several decades, the price of patterns and fabrics nowadays is bordering on outrageous.

*Have I mentioned before that I am not a hot weather person? If not, has this post left you with the impression that heat and humidity make me crabby, cranky, impatient, and irritable? How observant you are! 🙂

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

