“Green Lantern,” “Larry Crowne,” “Midnight in Paris”

In the past two weeks we have seen three movies. None have been outstanding.

We were sort of looking forward to “Green Lantern,” but we would have liked it better had we been teenagers or younger. Hollywood has finally reached its limit on stupefying us with its special effects and bringing comic book characters/storylines to the big screen. This was just a so-so movie, which I liked better than Danny did.

Rating: 2.8 out of 5 stars.

“Larry Crowne” with Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts was also just okay. We could have waited for the DVD. The premise was ordinary. The script was ordinary. The characters were ordinary. The acting was ordinary. Was that the purpose? I doubt it. We, the viewers, do not expect ordinary from Tom Hanks, who for the past twenty years has chosen incredible-to-perfect scripts. Pairing him with Julia Roberts was a stretch, and her character was not heart-warming. There were some amusing parts, but, overall, Danny and I did not get as much of a kick out of it as others in the small audience did.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars.

Danny and I viewed “Midnight in Paris” at the Bijou at the Crossroads theater in San Antonio. The Bijou plays mostly IFC movies and provides big, comfortable seats and a dining experience. When the local theaters are not showing anything that interests us, we head to the Bijou…Anyway, “Midnight in Paris” is a Woody Allen film. BUT, thank goodness, he was not in it. (We cannot stand the man!) The scenery, classic Parisian, has inspired many artists and writers, many of whom lived there either permanently or temporarily. This film is the first one to make me feel that I need to go there. It is a writer’s movie and has more to do with imagination and following one’s dream than it does about Allen’s usual overwhelming angst. Don’t get me wrong, there is plenty of self-evaluating, put-downs, and crummy relationship to go around; however, Owen Wilson’s character is fighting for his writing life. His fiancee, Rachel McAdams, is a jerk, as are her snobby parents. The other stars in this movie are cast as dead Bohemian artists, writers, and philosophers – quite entertainingly.

 Rating: 3.3 out of 5 stars.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

