Pea Salad

Droughty south-Texas summers are ferocious and have you wondering if it will ever be cool again. Even with air-conditioning, I don’t feel like cooking. Light meals are the best, something grilled with a cool salad.

Recipe: Easy Pea Salad

1 can Green Giant LeSueur Sweet Peas, drained
1/4 c. mayonnaise
1 large dill pickle, diced
1/3 c. grated cheese
dash of paprika
1 tbs. diced onion (optional)

Directions: In medium serving dish put drained peas, diced dill pickle, and grated cheese. Add mayo and mix together carefully, so as not to mash the peas. You don’t want to add too much mayo so the flavors will come through. Sprinkle with paprika and refrigerate for at least a half hour. Serves 4.

Thought of the Week: It’s Friday again, the Friday after July 4th. The year is half over; the world will just not stop spinning. Yikes, there is so much left to do. Have you finished Christmas shopping yet? 🙂

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

