The Painting

Danny and I like art and antiques, so, with some rare time on our hands, a few weekends ago we went to some local antique shops: Red Rooster Cafe, Downtown Antique Mall, Gruene Antique Co., La Belle Vie, and the Gruene Flea Antique Mall. Our main goal had been to find a particular piece of furniture, which we didn’t. But we did find two paintings that we liked very much, one was of beautiful horses by Zoltan Benyey. The other one was a small 1952 acrylic of a Paris market by an artist we cannot make out. We purchased neither, but wrote down as much information as we could glean.

After a little research online, I didn’t think much more about them. However, Danny mentioned the Paris painting often and, last Saturday, on the way home from one of his jobsites, he went back to the Gruene Flea Antique Mall to buy it. He called me all distraught/fuming/chagrined in one, telling me his tale of woe. That this had been his third attempt to get back to that store to buy the painting as a reward for all his hard work in the heat over the past couple months. That he went to point it out to the store’s owner and its spot was empty. That he was told “some lady” had purchased it just an hour earlier. That he wanted her name and number, but they wouldn’t give it to him. He was laughing and frustrated alternately, and I laughed and empathized with him. Frankly, I was guffawing. And so, he sighed as said he was heading to the Downtown Antique Mall where the Benyey painting was. He was determined to buy something.

Fortunately, the Benyey was pricey, for us, and the owner would not come down enough. Danny called me again to say he told the woman he would not even put it in layaway until he had researched the artist some more. Then he hung up and came home with slumped shoulders and a jutting bottom lip. I patted his back, saying I would help him discover the woman who had snatched his painting. We walked into his office and I pointed to his chair.

There was the Paris painting! He was soooo elated, but said, “You stinker!” While out running errands, I had bought it for him as a surprise birthday present. When he called me the first time, it was hidden in my closet. That is why I laughed so hard when he was practically cursing that woman. With him feeling so dejected, I could not wait until October to give it to him. Making his day made mine!

…And what a chuckly anecdote to tell our family and friends! 🙂

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Painting

  1. Liz Taylor says:

    Great story, Monnie! You two were made for each other.

    Like

    • Cyranette says:

      Thanks, Liz. Hope y’all are well in our beloved redwoods/mountains..

      Like

    • Joyce Weil says:

      Hello Cyranette,
      My name is Joyce and I am a neice of Zoltan Benyey, the Hungarian painter that produced the “Wild Horses” painting you were considering buying. Currently I am doing geneology research on my family tree and having a hard time discovering much about the Hungarian side. I remember sending my childish pictures to Uncle Zoltan long ago, and he would Always send me a letter in return encouraging me to continue practicing my artwork. He was a very kind and noble gentleman.
      I saw where you had written down as much information as you could glean….. I would be so grateful if you could share any of that information with me. My family owns 20 to 30 of his sketches, watercolors and oil paintings, and I know that Uncle Zoltan passed away in 1993. He was married to a lovely Hungarian lady who is known to me as Beya Naygy.
      I am trying hard to locate people in that branch of my family, any information you may have found could be useful to me. Thank you for reading my ramble! And thank you for appreciation Uncle Zoltans fabulous painting of horses, he could paint people, landscapes and seascapes just as well — but his horses were spectacular!
      Regards,
      Joyce Weil
      JWEIL825@yahoo.com

      Like

  2. Ric Savage says:

    I just purchased a small painting by Benyey in an antique mall in New Braunfels. It is titled “Horses’ Bath at Evening”, signed and dated 1948. On the back of the board, he has inscribed the title and listed his address in NY. LOve it. I have contacted his niece above to see if she has more information on the piece. rs

    Like

Leave a Reply

