A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That

*Tall men should drive big vehicles and short men should drive small vehicles. When big men emerge from small cars, it is slightly humorous. But when small men hop down from big trucks or SUVs, it’s a little sad. Big vehicles and other toys cannot compensate for what is felt to be inadequacy. Character makes the man, not his accessories.

*Some would say that my sisters and I are indulged by our spouses, although occasionally begrudgingly. However, on closer observation, that really is not true. Our considerate men give us what we need or would like because they love us, and because to do so makes them feel like kings or heroes. What man does not want to feel that way?

*As a teenager, one persistent nightmare I had was of losing my teeth. I had a good smile and thought toothlessness would be devastating. Now that I have a lopsided smile, I don’t care about my teeth so much. I take care of them, of course, and they are still strong. However, the radiation treatments I had a decade ago may eventually affect my jaw bones, which could lead to teeth falling out. Should that happen, there are plenty of foods I could still eat: mashed potatoes, oatmeal, shakes, smoothies, applesauce, ice cream, bananas, bread pudding, milk toast, pumpkin pie, eggs, soups, avocadoes, kiwis, preserves, peanut butter, etc. I will still cook for Danny as usual, but then again, maybe we’ll be toothless together. 🙂

*When I watch television at night, there is a puzzle book and pencil in my hands. While at the movies, I eat popcorn and candy like a starving child. Is this nervous energy? I hope so, because that uses up calories. 🙂 It’s weird, but only at rest do I feel restless.

*The other day I found a surprising solution to removing price stickers from glass, like those pesky ones on picture frames. Previously, I have used alcohol, Goo Gone, and other glass cleaners that either did not work or left my fingers messy. This time, after scraping off as much of the label as possible, I tried acetone (fingernail polish remover) and a cottonball to get rid of the remnants and glue. It worked like magic, which is funny because it did not remove any of my toenail polish. Go figure!…Also, this miraculous solution is excellent for removing tree sap!

*I wish my body was the same in the evening as it was in the morning. When I wake up, I’m taller and slimmer. My posture is straight. I can suck in my abdomen; my profile is acceptable. However, by mid-afternoon, I feel fat and loose. Humidity swells my tissues. Gravity seems to be pulling my skin down, creating rolls that were not there a few hours earlier. My abdomen refuses to be sucked in, and I cannot seem to stand up straight. Sometimes a power nap revitalizes me, sometimes not. As we age, our minds may remain sharp and our energy can be restored, albeit it partially/temporarily, but gravity plays havoc with our skin and flesh.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That

  1. t says:

    i would like to say that the fingernail polish remover tip will be the very first thing i tell my wife about when i see her this evening (wonderful idea!). But in all reality, i’ll have most likely forgotten by then – from thinking too much about how my body also changes over the course of the day…

    Like

Leave a Reply

