A New Language

While I was driving my grandsons home yesterday, I heard them conversing in earnest. I could not make out all they were saying, but occasionally 7-year-old Carlo would ask his 2-year-old brother to pronounce something and Carlo would repeat what Oliver said.

After a few minutes, Carlo called out to me, “Grandma!”
“What, Carlo?”
“I’ve learned a new language,” he said.
“What is it?”
“It’s two-year-old language!” he replied proudly, which caused me to laugh quite heartily.
“Really?” I managed to say.
“Yes,” he replied most seriously, “now I can speak three languages – English, Spanish, and Two-year-old.”
“That’s fantastic!” I exclaimed with an all-over smile.

Oliver actually speaks English quite well, and has for nearly a year. He picked up talking by listening to his older brother. Everyone can understand what he says in his cute little voice. He repeats everything like a parrot, but some words come out like an Elmer Fudd pronunciation. For example: he will say “yatur” for later and “ti-urd” for tired. (Our favorite is: “Maywy had a yiddle yam.”) But Carlo believes it to be a special language that needs to be deciphered, which is delightful in itself.

(Our curly-headed grandsons! Couldn’t resist this pic. They don’t sit still much.)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

