Fresh Lemonade and Starving Children

Two groups of girls have been selling lemonade in our neighborhood this summer, like my sisters and I did almost every summer. At opposite corners, these girls brave the heat to call out “Lemonade! Lemonade,” or wave their arms and jump up and down at approaching cars. Luckily for them, our neighborhood has many retirees and some stay-at-home parents, so there is moderate traffic. However, I was disappointed to find that after I bought a quart of one corner’s lemonade, it was not fresh-squeezed.

Recipe: Fresh Lemonade

2 c. lemon juice (8-10 large lemons)
1 c. sugar
2 c. water

Directions: Slice and squeeze the lemons until you have at least 2 cups of juice. Transfer the juice to a pitcher. Add sugar and stir until dissolved. Add water and stir. Store in refrigerator or serve with ice. Makes 1/2 gal.

Options: Add some sliced strawberries or a handful of fresh raspberries. Top each glass with a sprig of mint.

Thought of the Week: The drought-caused famine in Africa has been much on my mind. The photos/videos of the small starving children and babies are heart wrenching, and I feel so helpless. It is not their fault that they were conceived and born in a drought and/or war-torn country. Everytime I throw out the scraps of our meals, I feel guilty. As you and your family enjoy a restaurant dinner, look down at your plate and think of those children across the ocean who have not eaten anything for several days. We, the well-fed people in the land of plenty, need to do more than pray for them. If we all donated $10-$20 to the International Red Cross or Unicef or Feed the Children, it would make a great difference.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

