Coconut/Candy Bar Pie

My sister Lynne served this yummy confection a few weeks ago, and I have been trying to get the recipe from her ever since. It tastes wonderfully light with just the right amount of sweetness.

Recipe:  Coconut and Chocolate Bar Pie

2-1/4 c. flaked coconut
1/4 c. butter, melted
one 8-oz. plain milk chocolate bar, broken up
2 tsp. instant coffee crystals
one 12-1/2 oz. container of Cool Whip (not lite), thawed
1/2 c. chopped almonds, toasted (brown watchfully in skillet for 5 minutes)
1 tbs. hot water

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 325.
2. In bowl, combine coconut and butter; turn into 9-inch pie pan, pressing firm to make an even crust.
3. Bake crust for 20-25 minutes until golden brown. Protect the crust with aluminum foil to prevent burning. Cool thoroughly.
4. In small sauce pan, melt chocolate bar over LOW heat, stirring frequently to prevent burning. Cool to room temperature.
5. Dissolve coffee crystals in 1 tbs. hot water. Fold into whipped topping.
6. Fold in melted chocolate bar, then most of the almonds. Reserve some to put on top of the pie.
7. Pile mixture into crust and chill in freezer overnight. It will NOT freeze solid.
8. Let stand 10-15 minutes before serving.

Thought of the Week: In the water is the only place to be in the summer time, especially this summer. Here in New Braunfels, there is plenty of heat-relieving water for our grandchildren to enjoy: Schlitterbahn, pools, and the rivers. Yesterday it was 105 at 5:30 p.m., going down to 92 at 9:30 p.m. Keeping cool is a must, otherwise I’m a sweaty, pink-skinned, crabby mess, who only wants to have delivery pizza for dinner! Not that the kiddos mind.

Luckily, two-year-old Oliver has a waterproof cast on his upper arm fracture.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

