In Plain Sight

*Sometimes it is amazing what you can overlook…We’ve been in this house for nearly a year. The grandchildren have visited often, sometimes for a week at a time, but they have yet to discover my stash of Reese’s Pieces, Almond Joy Pieces, and Special Dark Pieces that is sitting in plain sight on a shelf in my office. I have not hidden them; they are in a big glass jar on my computer desk, above the monitor. The kids sleep in this room and, occasionally, I’ll let them play on my computer. However, the level of candy in the jar does not go down. Fascinating, especially considering the size of their tooths. Perhaps, since we only allow them to eat in the tiled kitchen/family room, it does not occur to them to check anywhere else.

* We were supposed to get five inches of rain Friday and Saturday. What a laugh! There was zip!…When it stormed twelve days ago, the strong wind was driving the rain torrentially all over the place. Some of the potted plants did not like the onslaught, and one hanging basket was ripped from the eaves. So Friday afternoon, I had my oldest grandson help me carry two big pots to the covered patio in anticipation of another brief deluge. I set out buckets to catch roof runoff, too. (sighhhhh)

*It’s Sunday again. There’s not enough down time and too little time to do what needs to be done. I’m a little past ready to live without clocks and calendars. How about you?

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

