Shopaholic No More

Many people become shopaholics because something vital is missing in their lives – love, affection, self-esteem, kindness, appreciation, respect, or control – and buying things fills the void. Shopping,whether for themselves or others, makes people feel, albeit momentarily, good about themselves. I know; it runs in my family. For over fifteen years I was miserable. Shopping and giving gave me solace, until I divorced and found my true love. For the past thirteen years, I have shopped for necessities and seldom more.

I only buy a few clothes or shoes once or twice a year, but with my large family there are always birthday presents to give. I used to love buying Christmas decorations and presents, but for the past few years it just hasn’t appealed to me. My siblings and I have not been kids for a long time and don’t want or need Christmas or birthday presents anymore. Though we have tried in vain to tell that to our parents, Mother still goes to Wal-Mart almost everyday. (She deserves a frequent shopper discount.)

Going shopping for hours on end, like my sisters, mother, daughter, and daughters-in-law do, is an activity I heartily decline. I go to a specific store for a specific item and that’s it. When my clothes, shoes, or small appliances wear out, I replace them. If I find a top, skort, or shoes that I really like and fit right, I buy several of them in different colors. That does it for me, until they wear out. Shopping is like eating, a necessity: I eat and shop to live, not live to shop and eat.

However, I must confess, I find it extremely difficult to resist buying cute clothes for my darlin’ granddaughters. Have you seen what’s out there? OMG! Unfortunately, my daughter and daughter-in-law insist on keeping me to one item per month.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Health, Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

