Miscellaneous Matters

*When all is said and done, what people should remember is that plants and animals lived outdoors before humans came along. We, the intelligent ones, cannot seem to stop ourselves from filling our homes and yards with plants and animals that come from totally different environments – for the sake of fun, comfort, and beauty.

*Before man’s interference, the natural law of survival had been maintained for millions of years. Now, due to global warming and poor stewardship, the world is faced with increasing food shortages, daily extinction of species, expanding deserts, depleted natural resources, shrinking polar ice caps, vanishing rain forests, erratic weather patterns, and uncontrollable populations of deer and imported pests (plants, fish, insects, mammals, diseases). This planet is just about screwed up beyond control.

*Using your turn signal in a turn-only lane is rather redundant.

*A person can live with only peace and quiet for so long – then ya gotta breakout and boogie!

*The way to many a man’s heart is through his senses: the smell of good food, the vision of an exciting sport or body, the hearing of praise, the taste of a kiss, and the touch of warm, smooth skin. The way to a special man’s heart is with intelligent conversations, quick wit, humor, total appreciation for all that he does for you, sharing adventures and interests, having pride in being with him, not being dependent on him for everything, being affectionate, as well as passionate, respecting and loving yourself, and making his favorite dishes.

*The cooing of mourning doves (aka turtle doves) has always soothed me. They are named for their gray color and their sounds, which some people have found sad. To me, their two syllables evoke sweetness and calm. I’ve never heard them at a funeral, in a cemetary, or at the scene of a tragedy, have you?

*The heat, the heat, the HEAT! It makes me hot, tired, and irritable. I can’t believe I stayed outside all the time as a kid. I suppose it’s still possible to spend the day outdoors in the summer with a water source and some shade, but the health risk is high…It’s funny, but when I return to the pro shop, after a morning round of golf with Dad, no one asks me how the game went. My heat-effused face seems to render them speechless. 🙂

*My gallbladder was bothering me a few weeks ago, so I looked up what foods to avoid (This will crack you up!) and found: breads/grains, sugar, chocolate, black tea, coffee, eggs, carbohydrates, packaged foods, onions, dairy, corn, oranges, grapefruit, nuts, fowl, pork and red meat, fruit juice, carbonated drinks, alcohol, tap water, nothing fried, and more. What I should eat for a healthy liver and gallbladder are organic and fresh: beets, cucumbers, green beans, sweet potatoes, avocados, vinegars, garlic, shallots, ripe tomatoes, grapes/grape juice, apples/apple juice, berries, papaya, pears, cold water fish (salmon, trout), lemons, and vegetable juices (except for the cabbage family). Gee, I’m going to be nothing but skin and bones, but my liver and gallbladder will be healthy!…Well, I stuck to bottled water, fruits, and vegetables with cheerios for breakfast, and one piece of bread a day for one week. I lost six pounds and my gallbladder no longer fussed. Good enough for me; therefore, I am trying to limit myself to one iced tea a day, some chicken once in a while, fish twice a week, some red meat once a week, and a rare piece of chocolate or 1/3 cup of ice cream…Getting older can be a real drag sometimes.

 

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

