Morning Muffins

There’s nothing like a good, healthy muffin to start the day. It fills you up and keeps you going for a couple hours with its carbohydrates. Just the thing for the first couple days of school, when the body is adjusting to getting up early and not being particularly hungry. The aroma of something sweet coming from the kitchen could help make everyone smile – at least inside.

Recipe of the Week: Oat Flakes Muffins

1 c. unsifted all-purpose, unbleached flour
1/3 c. firmly packed lt. brown sugar
1 tbs. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
2-1/2 c. oat flakes cereal*
1 c. milk
1 egg
1/2 c. cinnamon applesauce

Directions: Mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. In a large bowl, combine cereal and milk and let stand for 3 minutes; stir well. Add egg and applesauce, blend well. Add flour mixture (batter will be thick). Spoon into greased, or papered, muffin pan; filling not more than 2/3 of each muffin cup. Bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes or until golden brown. Serve warm with ice cold milk. (You could make them a day ahead and nuke ’em in the morning.)

*Note: Any oat flake cereal, with or without fruit, will do.

Thought of the Week: School starts here next week. I wish I was going. As a kid, I remember wishing school would never end. I wanted to soak up all the English, math, social studies, and geography they would give me and more. Back then, there were dress codes, rules, and rows of wonderful desks that were bolted to the floor. Quietness and studiousness reigned in the classroom; no one disrespected any adult. The red brick schools of Indiana had tall windows that were opened to the refreshing spring and fall weather. Each classroom had 12-foot ceilings, transoms above the tall doors, wood floors, and a cloak room for winter and rainy weather clothes. (sighhh) I loved school.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

