Water

*Okay, answer me this: If our skin needs water to keep from drying out, why doesn’t it absorb it when we bathe or swim or are out in the rain? And, if skin does not absorb water externally, why would it absorb lotion or oil? Because water is thicker than anything else? Because almost everything floats on water? Do lotions/oils really penetrate our skin? If not, then we are being duped by cosmetic companies and they are raking in the dough.

*Our yard is going to pot from lack of rain. Being restricted to sprinkler watering once a week is not enough, not with these relentless high temperatures we are experiencing. I go outside at twilight, when it is still 95 degrees, to water by hand a couple times a week, but it gets dark too fast…Everyone is getting as sick of the weather as they are of complaining about it.

*The amount of Comal River springing from the hillside in Landa Park has decreased significantly. The ducks, geese, and swans are walking, instead of paddling and diving. The algae is drying up in places, as well. Some tubing is still going on, but people have to watch that their rearends don’t get scraped on rocks.

*It did rain on Thursday for a few minutes, though welcomed clouds blocked the sun for a couple hours. Some of the rain disappeared as soon as it hit hot pavement. By the time I went outside with my camera the rain had stopped, but some places around town had enough rain to puddle and to use windshield wipers.

(I would like to apologize for not inserting any photos for this post. It has been too darn hot, for one; and I have been spending all week helping to move my son’s and my daughter’s families.)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

