Puddles & Picnics

*If the pull of gravity on our bodies is so great, why doesn’t our skin puddle around our ankles as we near the end of life? With the skin’s elasticity slackening more each year that seems like the logical outcome. Fortunately, that does not occur, because it would be totally gross. In actuality, skin just hangs loose in various places.

*Two of my children have moved this past week. They packed and purged for several weeks, but when moving day came, nothing went smoothly. Add the horrible heat to the loading process and you have one heck of a miserable day. While my son had help from his brother, a cousin, and a friend to load a Ryder van, my daughter hired a moving company. Neither used Mayflower or North American Van Lines. Both had more belongings than the trucks could hold, so additional vehicles were needed. By the end of the day, everyone was hot, tired, and irritable. Then, they had to travel to their new locations and unpack! My son and family arrived at a house that had not been emptied, while my daughter’s movers broke several pieces of furniture and heirlooms. Four days later and they are still not done. Plus, neither new abode is to their liking at this point. It seems that no matter how you move, it is never a picnic.

*The Great Depression began with Black Tuesday on Oct. 29, 1929 and lasted until 1941, when we entered WWII. From 1930-1936 there also occurred an agricultural depression due to drought, overplanting, and poorly managed crop rotation; huge dust storms affected Oklahoma, Kansas, Colorado, Nebraska, Texas, and New Mexico . These two lengthy events seem to be revisiting us now, albeit more moderately. Not a happy thought.

*The 24-hour news media is contributing to panic and uncertainty in the economy. When they don’t have any “news” to report, they lock onto an issue and blow it all out of proportion to make it seem important. They talk things to death and opinionate, often without facts. What they say makes no difference in what is happening, other than to upset people and create doubt.  If they won’t give it a rest, one can always turn off the tube, radio, or internet.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

