Fantasy Football

“Are you ready for some football?” ABSOLUTELY! I wish football was played year-round. Basketball, hockey, soccer, and baseball last months longer – none of which we watch. Football is a tough, contact sport that requires strategy and myriad plays. I love watching impossible catches and running backs allude tackles. Plus, there are many unusual player names on jerseys that I jot down to use in my fictional writing, like Ayanga Okpolowuruk. 

I’ve always enjoyed football. It’s an exciting sport in high school, college, and the NFL. However, I don’t follow college football. Although, I’ve been to Indiana University and Northeastern University games as a student, it just never meant much to me. There are hundreds of teams, but they don’t have a particularly long season. All the teams cannot play each other, therefore, there cannot be a college super bowl or a real winner. The teams are ranked, and colleges benefit monetarily from having a top-notch team rather than an exemplary student body. Basically, college football is a guy – alumni or student or parent – thing, and I’m not a guy. (No offense, women, but would you really participate in college football if it wasn’t for your boyfriend/husband/son or tailgating?)

Yesterday I began the process of putting my fantasy team together. My son and daughter-in-law invited me to join their league five years ago, and I’ve been involved ever since. We’ve had 8, 10, and 12 teams in any given year. Having twelve teams meant there were fewer good players to go around, but I still managed to come in fifth place last year. What bugs me is that the first and last drafters get to make two selections at a time. Of course, in my second year that was a good thing because I came in 8th place the year before. 🙂 Our draft is Saturday, Sept. 3rd, and usually takes us about 45 minutes.

One week in last year’s season I had five guys out on byes. They were my highest scoring players, too, which was a total bummer. Scrambling for replacements was tough, but that’s what it’s all about. However, twelve teams were two too many, so we will keep it down to eight or ten from now on.

I choose players that have high fantasy numbers the previous season. That is why I always choose a quarterback in the first round, while everyone else drafts a running back. Typically, running backs make short yardage plays and, thus, acquire smaller fantasy numbers. There are just too few great ones to make me risk losing out on a high-numbers quarterback. I chose Tom Brady the year he was taken out in the first season opener. What an utter bummer that was! Also, I do not pick players with bad reps like Terrell Owens and Ben Roethlisberger. When I am making decisions on my bench players, I tend to choose guys who have a great smile in their NFL profile.

Because of the lengthy player-lockout this year, the press releases on the rookies and the break-out players did not happen. The preseason games have been the only look we’ve had at some of these guys, and I have not had the opportunity to watch many of them. So I have to rely on sports commentators, not knowing which ones I can depend on for the best information. ESPN, NFL, and SPORTS ILLUSTRATED are the usual channels and websites I visit. Can you research too much and get statistic overload?

Best of luck to all you fantasy players out there! If I had a wish, it would be that the players realized, and cared about, how much we are depending on them to do their best and run up beaucoup points for us . 🙂

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

