Hurricanes, Droughts, and Drafts

*The first two weeks of school have gone by here. The three grandchildren new to the area like their schools very much, but have already been out sick with various flu symptoms. This surprises me since they are in 2nd, 6th, and 7th grades rather than in kindergarten or first grade where new students (and teachers) usually get slammed by unaccustomed germs. The three-day weekend will set them back on their feet…Question: Why do elementary students have to be at school before junior high and high school students? Don’t young children need more sleep?

*Having abandoned the lawn, we are watering the trees now, as suggested by drought experts. Leaving the hose on for twenty minutes a few feet from the base of the trees is best for them. I’m glad we don’t have a farm or ranch to deal with…A water line broke a couple days ago and precious water ran down the steep street for a couple hours before NBU got it under control – what a waste!

*My fantasy football draft is this afternoon. With fewer teams in our league this year, I am hoping to put together a stomping group of players. I’m competing against my two sons and my daughter-in-law, as well as members of her Denver family, and want to rack up big points every game – duh! However, with nothing but preseason games under their “belts,” player injuries could be an major issue in any regular game for a while. I feel sorry for the professional athletes who were drafted into not-much-hope teams; it is such a waste of good talent when the defense or a quarterback is lousy. Players who manage to make big plays in spite of their teammates are to be applauded.

*I have to use powder on my ergo mousepad, because of sweaty wrists. I could keep the indoor temperature at 70 degrees, but the cost is too high and I don’t want to contribute to brown-outs…Sun, sun, sun – go away, please, come again next month.

*Danny and I were going to Comfort today and check out all the antiques. We have been thinking about it for months and “whenever we have the time” occurred. We thought it was today, but nooooo, I have the FF draft!  http://www.comfort-texas.com/antiques.htm

*The people on the east coast are complaining of power outages from hurricane Irene. They are stressed and put-out after just a few days. When Celia hit Corpus Christi in 1970, we were without power for nearly three weeks and had to drive to Kingsville (45 miles away) to pick up ice and do laundry. The power companies are working as fast as they can – why the heck would they not? Their families are affected also.

*Let’s get that interstate water pipeline going to prevent extreme flooding damage and droughts. That’ll create lots of jobs in many states!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

