“Our Idiot Brother” and “The Debt”

It was Danny’s idea to see “Our Idiot Brother.” I wasn’t so sure I would like it, thinking it would be similar to previous men-and-potty-humor films that had offended my sensibilities. I was pleasantly surprised – very pleasantly surprised, actually.

Paul Rudd, plays Ned, a good-hearted man who doesn’t seem to get anything right. He cannot lie or be anything other than who he is – a totally open person. His three sisters, including adorable Zooey Deschanel as Natalie, think he is an idiot, because they do not understand him or cannot see their own lives very clearly. His mother, Shirley Knight, is an unharmful gem from whom Ned gets his mellowness. That and some weed. The only puzzling part of the film is the harkening back to hippie days; we were not really sure in what “time” this was taking place. It was a fun and inspiring movie.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars.

“The Debt” is a much different film. There were no light moments in this drama/thriller. A Nazi war criminal, Dieter Vogel (played by Jesper Christensen) has been tracked down and captured in the 1960s by three Jewish secret agents. Helen Mirren, Tom Wilkinson, and Ciaran Hinds play the retired agents. The film goes back and forth between the 1960s mission in East Berlin and present day. It is not a feel good movie, but it is interesting and well-acted.

Rating: 3.8 stars out of 5.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

