“The Whistleblower”

Rachel Weisz stars in “The Whistleblower,” an intensely powerful film about human trafficking in 1999-2000. The sex slave trade was alive and well in war-torn Bosnia, utilized and run by independent British contractors and United Nations peacekeepers, as well as local police and criminals. Rather than help people after the devastating Balkan wars, greedy men chose to exploit/abuse/torture/kill young women. The diplomats, aid workers, private contractors, and military personnel who paid for these slaves were just as guilty of inhumane acts as the suppliers and profiteers. “The Whistleblower,” based on true events and facts, is not for the faint of heart. It greatly angered me, as it should everyone.

Rating: 3.8 out of 5 stars.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

