Cheesy Cornbread

Despite the heat outside, I made some chili this week. It was very good and quick. What I did not add, though, because I didn’t want to turn on the oven, was some tasty cornbread. But, at the first sign of a chill in the air, the following cornbread will be on my table.

Recipe of the Week: Cheesy Cornbread

1 c. butter, melted
1 c. white sugar
4 eggs
1 (15 oz.) can cream-style corn
1/2 c. shredded Monterey Jack cheese
1/2 c. shredded Cheddar cheese
1 c. all-purpose flour
1 c. yellow cornmeal
4 tsp. baking powder*
1/4 tsp. salt

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Lightly grease or spray a 9″x 13″ baking dish.
2. In a large bowl, beat together the butter and sugar. Beat in the eggs one at a time. Mix in the cream corn and cheeses.
3. In another bowl, stir together the flour, cornmeal, baking powder, and salt. Add this mixture to the corn/cheese mixture. Stir until smooth and pour batter into the pan.
4. Bake for one hour, until a toothpick in the center comes out clean.

*Be sure to check the expiration date on the can. If you haven’t used your baking powder in a while, it could be out of date and that will keep the cornbread, or anything, from rising, which is a real bummer.)

Option: Add a small can of diced, mild green chiles (drained).

Thought of the Week: Calendar-wise, summer is nearly over. I have noticed that there are definitely fewer hours in the day that the unrelenting heat makes me sweat. Life is almost grand!…And, there is a slight chance of rain this weekend. I’m practically giddy!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

