Demands of Time

*Have you ever felt like a hamster on a wheel, busy but not going anywhere? At best, you might be getting some exercise. I feel that way too often.

*Activity at the bird feeders has decreased recently. Maybe the flurry of birds during August could be attributed to some species that were fueling up on their way south. Does that portend an early winter? Gosh, I sure hope so.

*When my children were born, I fully understood that they were under my care and guidance for only eighteen years. After that, I could not expect them to remain with me. They had to grow up and venture out into the world. Therefore, with that mindset, I experienced no empty-nest syndrome when they began leaving home. Grandparenthood, on the other hand, is totally different. We cherish our grandchildren more because they do not belong to us. They do not live with us, and we do not see or watch them everyday. It is very difficult, when these precious babies live further than five hours away and visits are sporatic at best.

*Do you feel antsy when you cannot access your computer? When my office doubles as a guest bedroom, I find myself mentally twiddling my thumbs. It’s unsettling having to figure out ways to occupy myself until I can recapture my domain. Although I am not reliant on the computer for writing, it is essential for research and communication. It’s not like I don’t have chores and errands to run, but being at my desk, attending to my files, and posting make up the part of my daily routine that I cherish and enjoy the most.

*After months of Danny asking me to make a special pie that he first tasted at my sister Lynne’s, I finally acquiesced yesterday. However, since it required being in the freezer overnight, we won’t be devouring it until later today. The recipe can be found on my July 29th post: candybarpierecipe .

*As a perfectionist, I do not like being ungood at things. Mediocrity is an anathema to me and, yet, every week I face it on the golf course with Dad. I would like to be better at the accursed game, but that would entail practicing a couple times a week, for which I do not have the time or inclination. Thus, I am forced into a frustrated state, albeit partially of my own making, when I cannot get that stupid little ball into a too-small hole within a specific number of shots. So, why can’t I just put aside this absurd perfection gig and think only about having fun and enjoying time with my dad? I have no idea. Sometimes my mind really bugs me!

*All summer I have been looking for a an old-fashioned lemon squeezer for making fresh lemonade. I searched through many thrift stores and antique malls. The former had none; the latter had plenty but at $35 to $49. Forget that! So, the other day I found one at Bed, Bath, and Beyond for seven bucks. Sold!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

