Family of Artists

Over half of the art on the walls of our home was painted or created by my mom, sister, sons, niece, nephew, and granddaughter. They have all been blessed with an inate ability, an extraordinary talent. Let’s start with the matriarch of the family (mom/grandmother/greatgrandmother): Clara Kelsey. Mom paints in oil, portraits and some landscapes. The portraits are usually of family members. She illustrated her high school yearbook and made paperdolls and their clothes for the first three of us girls, when we were young. After the youngest of us, brother Jay, started elementary school, Mom went back to painting and took a three-year correspondence art course decades ago.

Mom has belonged to a couple art leagues and won several awards for her paintings. She does not paint to sell, although she has been commissioned to paint for friends and neighbors. Her landscapes are mostly of gardens and fox hunts, a few of which adorn the homes of my brother and my daughter.

My sister, Diane M. Parker, is an award-winning artist who has sold many gorgeous acrylic paintings. Several art galleries in Texas have displayed her work. She has also adorned decorative pillows and leather purses with stunning madonna-and-child portraits. Besides decorating chairs and room screens with her designs, Diane expresses her art by creating and printing notecards with fanciful faces. She has also written and illustrated a children’s book. For six years, she taught art history on cable TV. Currently, she is teaching at a local high school and belongs to the New Braunfels Art League. (I wanted to put in a link to her website, but some looser hacker has destroyed it. Where are the Internet police?!?!?)

Diane’s son, Ryan, is a first class cartoonist and graphic artist, living in San Antonio. He helped create “A Scanner Darkly” movie with Keanu Reeves. For Christmas one year, Ryan caricaturized our family at that time (which I cannot download for some reason.)

My oldest son, Judson McCallick, has been drawing most of his life and majored in art at Southwest Texas University (now Texas State). Because he is legally blind, his acrylic paintings have quite a unique style. Give Jud a photo and he will turn it into a work of art. He is a stay-at-home Dad of two darlin’ girls and welcomes commissions.

This painting was for my birthday a few years ago. I wanted one of a landscape and gave him a postcard of a canyon in Arizona. I love how it turned out.

My other son, Tyler, is a fine woodcrafter who uses exotic woods to make special items, as well as hardwoods to make large pieces of furniture and cabinetry. Please visit his website for more. http://newbraunfelscabinets.com/new-braunfels-cabinets-san-marcos-cabinets

These two pieces are bed trays that Tyler made for Danny and I, but they are too pretty to use. The borders are made of birdseye maple, one of my favorite woods.  Besides the inlays, Tyler enjoys making boxes with secret drawers and storage. This one below is for jewelry. 

The artwork of our granddaughter Lizzie is no longer childish, although she is only ten. Diane has spent just a few hours with her and says, “The girl has remarkable talent.”

My 14-year-old niece Kristina has been drawing for ten years and is now designing clothes. (I do not have any samples of her work, unfortunately.)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Family of Artists

  1. Lynne says:

    That is SO nice that you put pictures of the paintings for us to look at as you describe the artist. I am partial and think everyone in the family is a genius. Enjoyed that, THANK YOU!

    Like

    • Cyranette says:

      Thanks, Lynne. I want to do a post about your photography, too, if you would not mind…We are having a great time in Louisville. Saw Cindy yesterday for lunch. Went to a couple fantastic antique places and met knew people. Love to all…

      Like

  2. T says:

    Hello, I loved all of the art! I’ve been looking for a blind artist to interview for my documentary project. Do you think you’re son would be interested?

    Like

Leave a Reply

