Reuben Sandwiches

This week we had a favorite for dinner. The meat melted in our mouths, as usual.

Recipe of the Week: Reuben’s Sandwiches

1 pkg corned beef* (whatever size is suitable for your family)
5 cloves of garlic, peeled but not diced
1/2 medium onion, sliced thickly
sauerkraut
swiss cheese slices
mayonnaise and/or spicy brown mustard
rye bread (marble or dark or Russian seedless, etc.)

Directions:
1. Take the corned beef out of the package and drain off the red juice. Fill a dutch oven** half full with water. Turn on burner to medium. Put the meat in the pot. Open and add the little seed packet.
2. Add the whole garlic cloves and onion slices.
3. Cover, let boil for twenty minutes. Lower heat to simmer and cook for 4-5 hours.
4. When the meat is soft, remove from pot to a cutting surface. Scrape away all fat, then slice on the diagonal.
5. Spread the mayo and/or mustard on two slices of bread. Make your sandwiches with warm sauerkraut and slice of swiss cheese. Put the between the meat and the swiss cheese or it will make the bread soggy.
6. Serve with potato salad or scalloped potatoes and applesauce.

*When picking out a good corned beef, it needs to be at least two inches thick, and when you try to squeeze the ends of the package together, it should not feel stiff. If it is not pliable, then the meat has too much hard fat in it.
**You can also use a crockpot and cook on low all day.

Thought of the Week: We had another evening thundershower Tuesday. I love the rumbling, except when it is directly over my head. We are 14″ below normal rainfall for the year, so these little storms do not do much for the aquifer, but they sure sound and feel great…I had to buy new windshield wipers today; the old ones dried out from the sun beating on them all summer. The Advance Auto Parts guy put them on for me for free and said to water them down every week to keep them in good condition. I only bought the other ones last year.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

