“Moneyball”

Gosh, I forgot that we saw “Moneyball.” That does not mean it was forgettable, though. Although Danny and I aren’t into baseball, the previews and trailers looked interesting. Brad Pitt was in his hyper, arrogant element as the Oakland A’s general manager Billie Beane. Through help from statistical analyst Peter Brand (Jonah Hill) Beane was able to bring the A’s back to winning on the smallest pro baseball budget by trading off the well-known players and bringing in the nobodies or has-beens. It was a very clever idea that had all the old scouts steaming mad. Art Howe (Philip Seymour Hoffman) directly disobeyed Beane at every turn, until Beane traded the most valuable player right before game time. Beane’s concept worked, creating a 20-game winning streak after some terrible initial games, and was emmulated by the Boston Red Sox right off the bat. 🙂

Rating: 3.2 out of 5 stars.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

