Picante Potato Pie and Home Again

We will be home today from our road trip through the midwest. We found this yummy recipe in Hurricane Mills, Tennessee.

Recipe for Friday: Picante Potato Pie

5 eggs
2-1/2 c. frozen shredded hashbrowns
1 c. shredded Montery Jack cheese
1/2 c. shredded sharp cheddar cheese
2/3 c. picante sauce
2 green onions, sliced
1/4 tsp. salt
6 bacon strips, cooked and crumbled

Directions: In a bowl, beat eggs. Stir in the hashbrowns, cheeses, picante sauce, onions, and salt. Pour into a greased 9 inch pie plate. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes. Sprinkle with bacon. Bake 5-10 minutes longer or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean. Serve with additional picante sauce. Serves 6.

Options: You can cover and refrigerate overnight; then remove 30 minutes before baking. Also, you can substitute the bacon for turkey sausage or leave it meat-free, but the smell of bacon frying makes most people very hungry.

Thought for the Week: Tonight we’ll be back in our own bed with our own pillows. Although we immensely enjoyed our trip, there is no place like home. You can enjoy this country so much better by car, but when it is time to head home it would be nice to board one of those old cargo planes with the van in the hold. 🙂

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Picante Potato Pie and Home Again

  1. Excellent recipe today thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed reading today’s post.

    Check out this healthy recipe – Cheese Topped Vegetables

    Like

Leave a Reply

