‘Tis the Season

*I love autumn, when the air cools and baking can begin in earnest. The windows can be opened to free the house of summer’s staleness and let the air-conditioner rest. Fall is the middle-age of a year, leaves turning like hair graying. Too bad our hair isn’t deciduous.

*In the summer I derive no pleasure from cooking/baking. It’s too darn hot; heating up the kitchen with more hot air totally turns me off. I’m not even tempted by anticipatory aromas. But in the fall, when winter is not too far away, I love to bake. The most used pages of my cookbooks contain cookies, cakes, pies, and cobblers. I bake so much that I have to give a lot away; Danny and I can’t/won’t eat everything I bake, so the post office, bank, fire department, police department, neighbors, and family benefit. It’s not that I’m overly nice, I just like to fill the house with natural scents of vanilla, chocolate, apples, berries, and cinnamon baking and bubbling in the oven. Mmmmm.

*On our road trip, we took nearly 500 pictures of the beautiful changing-leaves, new-to-us cities, extraordinary old/new architecture, fabulous family memories, and lovely waterways. I downloaded them to the computer on Sunday. On Monday they were alllllll gone! Somehow they had been deleted from the computer by unknown fingers (I’m naming no names!), but worst of all, I had already deleted them from our Kodak camera as well. I…WAS…SOOOO…ANGRY!!! And not a little upset. At that moment, I could have rendered a tree into matchsticks. Instead, I eventually calmed down and tried some retrieving software on the camera’s memory card. It seemed to work okay, but when I attempted to edit and number the photos, I found that some had been damaged and could not be read by Kodak’s EasyShare software. Seeking further help, I chatted online with Kodak tech support for over two hours, as they put me through this and that instruction. In the end, I had to uninstall the Kodak software/driver and install new driver software. Most of the photos were recovered but a couple dozen still cannot be opened and edited. Plus, my day had been totally shot – I was tired, stressed, and hungry by 6 p.m. and still had to fix dinner. Life is such a bummer sometimes! But, I must ask myself: Was I so livid because I had lost precious photos of places/people far away or because I would not have been able to insert certain photos for my upcoming roadtrip post? Answer, honestly: Both.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

