Pleasing Pumpkin Bread

Pumpkins, pumpkins, pumpkins everywhere! Do you think they are orange because of Halloween,  Thanksgiving, and autumn? Orange like the maple and oak leaves? Since the pumpkins have been around longer than the holidays, it might be safe to say that pumpkin orange is responsible for the occasions and decorations…In any case, like the chicken and the egg, it is irrelevant – what’s important is the inside of the pumpkin that can be turned into yummy things.

Recipe of the Week: Pleasing Pumpkin Bread

1 spice cake mix
1/3 c. cinnamon applesauce
1 can packed pumpkin
1/2 c. brown sugar
3 eggs, slightly beaten

Directions:
1. Heat oven to 350 degrees. Spray two or three loaf pans (depending on height of loaves you want) with baking spray.
2. Mix all ingredients together in large bowl. Pour into loaf pans, 1/2 to 2/3 full.
3. Bake about 40 minutes. Option: Sprinkle with powdered sugar or drizzle thinned cream cheese icing on top.

Thought of the Week: The sky is clear, the wind is blowing, and the air is almost crisp. Perfect for trick-or-treating and holiday baking. Less than two months until Christmas. Yikes!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pleasing Pumpkin Bread

  1. I shall be making pumpkin bread in approximately 36 hours – I can’t wait.

    Like

Leave a Reply

