Waiting in the Dark

This morning, at a little past 7 o’clock, I went out on an errand in the dark. I drove tentatively down our steep hill, alert for deer, and was glad they weren’t out and about yet. I passed several groups of children waiting for school buses on street corners. That is the part of daylight savings time that always bothers me – kids getting up and waiting for transportation in the dark. Why can’t DLS be changed in September rather than at the end of October? In this day and time, DLS is clearly politically motivated. It’s BS.

On the way home, I drove up the hill and nearly hit a darn deer standing in the middle of the street. The deer in this town are a menace. Although the neighborhoods have been around for many decades, the animals have not moved out towards the lake, where there is more to nibble on. Nooooo, they stay right here and eat our pretty blossoms, as well as bring traffic to a sometimes screeching halt.

I no longer view deer as pretty and sweet, but there are plenty of others who feed the dang things and keep them loitering around. Tourists find them “darling” and stop to photograph them in Landa Park and along the rivers. Around my neighborhood there are groups of ten to fifteen does, fawns, and yearlings lazing about, eating garden plants, and walking paths that have been long paved over.

Of course, when the deer population increases the incidences of Lyme disease, perhaps action will be taken to move them elsewhere. Perhaps. But, by then, it will be too late, people! God forbid, government does anything ahead of time – don’t put in a stop sign or stop light until a few people are killed at intersections; don’t consider that we have a deer problem until we have to build a clinic just to handle a health issue; don’t widen a road until traffic clogs up; don’t repair a bridge until it becomes hazardous; don’t change DLS until some children are run over in the dark.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Health, Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

