Manipulation

*I revel in non-daylight savings time mornings, when by nine o’clock the sun has been up for a couple hours. Civilized, normal time. Not manipulated time.

*Two days ago gasoline was at $3.15. Yesterday, it went up to $3.25 at various stations. Why? Why, indeed. My thought: Because the oil companies don’t want to be accused of manipulation by raising prices the weekend before Thanksgiving, they are raising prices now to not be considered manipulating. The prices were lower in October because nothing much was going on around the country. (We sure appreciated the lower prices on our road trip last month.) Don’t you think it is time for we, the people, to manipulate these quarterly-multibillion-dollar-profit oil corporations? As soon as you can afford it, buy hybrid or total electric. I am sooooo sick of being manipulated by big business, who manipulates “our” Congress.

*Retailers aren’t fooling me with their sales prices and “You saved $$$” receipts. Their price tags show the “original” price and the “sale” price. Wow! Give me a break! They put a higher price on their products and then “reduce” the cost to just above what it was a couple years ago. Holy cow, people! Everytime we turn around we are being made to think we are really saving money on clothes, toys, electronics, linens, etc., but we ARE NOT. Do you think they could stay in business if they were really giving us those big savings? Nope. Once again, consumers are being manipulated because companies think we are stupid and can be duped. Unfortunately, from the number of vehicles in parking lots, it seems to be working for them.

*Whenever I needed candy, I would go to Wal-Mart to buy packages of 8 mini candy bars for a dollar. The other grocery stores charged $1.24 per package, so I was saving almost 25% per package. However, last week I went to Wal-Mart to restock our candy jar and found that Wal-Mart’s price had gone up to $1.24 as well. Guess they have to help pay for all their lawsuits.

*With the coming of fall/winter, the fruit aisle in the grocery store has diminished. Peaches, apples, nectarines, etc. aren’t grown and harvested year-round here in the States. Did you notice how huge some of the peaches and apples were this summer? Hmmm. I’m not sure that’s good. Why would fruit grow larger all of a sudden after centuries of being the same size? Chemistry! Somebody’s been screwing with mother nature – again. What have we been ingesting? Makes one wonder, at least, it sure makes me wonder. Therefore, I buy organic as much as possible to avoid pesticides, herbicides, fertilizers, growth hormones, and antibiotics in food. (Just for kicks, Google images of genetic engineering.)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

