Pineapple Upside Down Cake

The other day I bought a Duncan Hines Pineapple Supreme cake mix. On the front of the box, as you can see, was a photograph of a square serving of pineapple upside down cake, complete with pineapple ring and maraschino cherry. However, when I opened the box yesterday, I found only the cake mix inside and none of the toppings. Plus, the directions on the back said nothing about making the cake on the front. I was temporarily “you gotta be kidding me” stymied. The last PUDC I made had everything inside the box, so why didn’t this one? (These particular cake mixes were on display and I just grabbed one as I went by, thinking that it would make a nice surprise dessert.) So what did I do? I looked in my old Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook for the PUDC recipe. Luckily, because the oven was preheating, I found the topping ingredients I needed in the pantry.

Recipe of the Week: Pineapple Upside Down Cake

3 tbs. butter, melted
1 large can crushed pineapple, drained
1 c. brown sugar, not packed
8 maraschino cherries
1 Duncan Hines Pineapple Supreme cake mix (or any yellow cake mix)
3 eggs
1-1/3 c. water
1/3 c. oil

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 F.  Spray bundt pan with baking Pam.
1. Melt butter in microwave and pour evenly into bottom of bundt pan.
2. Place cherries in the eight larger sections of the bundt pan. Cover evenly with the brown sugar.
3. Thoroughly drain the pineapple and evenly place it atop the brown sugar.
4. Whisk together the water, eggs, and oil in large bowl. Add the cake mix and follow directions for mixing times.
5. Pour batter evenly over the pineapple layer and bake for 45 to 50 minutes.
6. Cool on rack for five minutes. Place large plate or platter over the bundt pan and turn it upside down. Let it cool for another 10 minutes or so before removing the bundt pan.

 (Sorry, but I did not have time to take a picture of the whole cake before we ate it.)

Thought of the Week: With all the technology available today – cars can park themselves, for heaven’s sake! – too many people seem to have misplaced their ability to improvise. They depend on gadgets or other people too much. I like figuring things out, solving problems, and improvising. Improvisation isn’t just for comedians and live theater. It’s the basis of taking the initiative, coming up with new ideas, and doing more than you’re asked, or expected, to do. Unfortunately, it’s a diminishing skill in the day-to-day game of life.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

