In the Autumn of My Mind

*If it wasn’t for mirrors, I still would know that I’m aging by the history and science questions I can no longer answer for the grandchildren. Answers that I learned over fifty years ago have stopped coming quickly to mind.  Though I can still research and learn new things enthusiastically, my instant recall has taken a hike to parts unknown. Ticks… me… off. The all-knowing grandmother now has to wing it. Not entirely, but more each year. “I’ve forgotten more than you’ll ever know” has become a reality, which is a real bummer!

*Post-It notes, which seemed like such a marvelous invention at the time, keep stacking up on my desk. A couple weeks will go by and I’ll wonder what the heck they’re for, those scribbled-on yellow squares, because instead of remembering things with my brain I have jotted snippets down and set them aside. When I can’t stand the piles of paper clutter anymore, I’ll look through them, decide if they need to be kept, and put them in a drawer or a file until I need the information – which may be never. If I threw them all away, would I miss them? I have no idea. Whatever I discover or discern online can be discovered and discerned again. (My Favorites list attests to that). With technology my mind is no longer required to remember data, and that is a shame. What my brain does retain is how to fix the darn computer. I’m becoming a little tech savvy whether I want to or not.

*With what I am experiencing in the autumn of my mind, I’m not looking forward to the winter of my mind, when my brain will stop reminding me to eat, put on deodorant, or go to the bathroom.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Health, Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In the Autumn of My Mind

  1. Ditto! (Couldn’t have said it better.) Maybe lay in a supply of diapers before the price goes up? (Lots of baby boomers coming on stream soon!) In fact, maybe use them to store your ‘notes for the future? Just a thought… 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

