Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

Sometimes I get bored with the same ol’ cookies year after year. So yesterday I threw (not literally, of course) some chocolate chips into peanut butter cookie batter. I also used crunchy pb instead of creamy. No big deal, but tasty.

Recipe of the Week: Peanut Butter with Chocolate Chips Cookies

1 c. crunchy peanut butter
1 c. Butter Flavor Crisco (or softened butter)
1 c. packed brown sugar
1 c. granulated sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
2 tsp. baking soda
3 c. flour
1/2 c. chocolate chips (whatever kind you prefer)

Directions:
1. Preheat to 375 F. Spray cookie sheet with Pam for Baking.
2. In a large bowl mix together, using a wooden spoon, the ingredients in the order given.
3. When the batter is complete, form balls (slightly smaller than a golf ball) by hand.
4. Place balls on cookie sheet about 2″ apart and press crisscrossed with sugared fork. (Put a little sugar in a bowl, press fork down on a ball, dip fork in sugar, press fork down perpendicularly on same cookie.)
5. Bake for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and cool on rack for 5 minutes. Move cookies to wax paper to finish cooling. Wipe off and respray cookie sheet before putting more cookies on it.

BTW: I always use two cookie sheets, filling up one while the other is in the oven. Makes the baking go faster. Also, bigger balls = bigger cookies = more baking time.

Thought of the Week:  I do not know about where you live, but here in New Braunfels our favorite sit-down-and-order restaurants (Olive Garden, Logan’s Roadhouse, Applebee’s, Chili’s, The Huisache, Mama Fu’s, The Gruene River Grill, and Mamacita’s) always seem packed. If we arrive after six o’clock during the week, we are handed a blinking device and have to wait. On the weekends? Forget about it! Point being: As far as I can tell, the recession has not kept a lot of people from eating out – including us.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

