Mind Flow

What started out this morning as a post on the differences between Danny and I (“The Yinyang of Us”) led me on a journey into philosophy. This mind-traveling happens to me often, resulting in another idea for a new post, article, or story…

An hour and a half ago (8:20 a.m.), Danny opened the front door to warm Hawaiian air, 71 degrees F. Except, we weren’t in Hawaii. We’re in New Braunfels, TX, and it’s frigging November 20th! He grinned; I didn’t. How could two soul-entwined people be so different? I reeeaaally hate the heat; he reeeaaally hates the cold. He loves the beach; I love the mountains – but we both love to swim and snorkel. I eat to live; he lives to eat – but we both crave desserts. He listens to music while he drafts proposals; I need quiet to write – but we both require solitude.

In order to compare our oppositeness to yin yang I  began a web search of the Chinese symbol. I spent a little time saving some uncopyrighted images but then started opening a few of their associated web pages and found all sorts of wondrous words.

Yin yang (“ying and yang” is an American bastardization) symbol represents how the ancient Chinese thought everything worked. The following quote comes from  http://fly.cc.fer.hr/~shlede/ying/yang.html

The outer circle represents “everything”, while the black and white shapes within the circle represent the interaction of two energies, called “yin” (black) and “yang” (white), which cause everything to happen. They are not completely black or white, just as things in life are not completely black or white, and they cannot exist without each other.

Hence, the small inner opposite circles within each color. Yin: earth, moon, night, winter, woman, cold, passive, negative. Yang: sky, sun, day, summer, man, heat, vigor, positive. Does that explain us or what! Just another Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus concept.

(Hmmm…It appears the sizes of these planets could also represent a large female egg and a small sperm. 😉 Although, Jupiter and Mars might be better. )

Further research took me to this fascinating site: Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy ( http://www.iep.utm.edu/yinyang/). Within its academic realm is much to contemplate in the many philosophical traditions, including American and feminist philosophies. My thoughts runneth over…

My mind does that a lot, which frustrates and/or amuses Danny when we’re driving along. He will make a comment or I’ll observe something and off my little gray cells will go. From point A (the initial comment/observation) one thought will flow into another thought, then another thought until I find myself at point F or P and blurt out a seemingly irrelevant remark. He’ll look at me puzzled, at which time I’ll explain to him the path I’d been on. That’s why I always keep a notepad in the car, as well as my purse, to jot down a random thought, topic, plot, character, or question.

The privilege of a lifetime is being who you are. Joseph Campbell

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

