Quick Turkey-Cranberry Salad

It is a gray, drizzly day outside. Perfect soup and sandwich weather. If you happen to have some leftover turkey still, or some in the freezer, you might like to make some turkey salad sandwiches.

Recipe of the Week: Quick Turkey-Cranberry Salad

2 c. cut up turkey
1 heaping tbs. minced onion
1/3 c. diced celery
1/3 c. diced apple
1/2 c. Ocean Spray Craisins
2/3 c. mayonnaise
1 heaping tbs. sweet relish or 1 diced dill pepper, optional
2 heaping tbs. chopped walnuts or pecans, optional
salt/pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Mix everything together, adding more mayo if necessary, and spread on slices of marbled rye bread or large croissants. (Depending on how dry or moist you like your sandwiches, you might want to spread some mayo or mustard on the bread/croissant before adding the turkey salad.)
2. Top with lettuce, tomato, and/or avocado slices.
3. Serve with chips or soup. Can’t get much easier than that!

Thought of the Week: Remember the turkey I posted about last week? Well, it’s dead. Some idiot from San Antonio killed the poor thing by grabbing its neck, shaking it around, and throwing it into the water to drown. He and a friend were witnessed laughing and taking pictures of the struggling bird. Luckily, a woman took down the man’s license number, and the 53-year-old was tracked down and cited but denied trying to kill the turkey. Senseless violence, cruelty, bullying, abuse, etc.  – human beings are such disappointing creatures.

AUTHOR’S NOTE: Two San Antonio Express-News articles about the Landa Park turkey reported that it had been identified as a female by “the game warden and other officials.” However, being obstinate, I emailed UT biologists this morning and received confirmation that, from my very clear photograph, it was indeed a male.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

