Ambrosia Bars and Holiday List

I love baking bars better than baking cookies, which are time consuming. Sometimes I’ll just spread the cookie dough in a 9 x 13 pan to avoid making batches of cookies. But bars – ambrosia, walnut, pecan, etc. – are the ultimate, yummy winter treat. Perfect for holiday parties.

Recipe of the Week: Ambrosia Bars

1/2 c. butter
1/4 c. granulated sugar
1 tsp. lemon rind
1 c. all-purpose flour
1/2 c. apricot-pineapple preserves
1 egg white
1/4 tsp lemon extract
1/2 c. powdered sugar
1/4 c. flaked coconut
1/4 c. sliced almonds

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F.
1. Beat together the butter and sugar until creamy. Beat in the lemon rind. Stir in the flour. Blend gently.
2. Spread into a buttered 8 x 8 baking pan and bake for 15 minutes. Cool. Turn oven up to 400F.
3. Spread with preserves. Beat egg white and extract slightly, until frothy. Add powdered sugar gradually. The mixture will be thin.
4. Drizzle mixture over the preserves. Sprinkle with the coconut and almonds.
5. Bake at 400F for 20 minutes or until delicately browned.
6. Cool slightly. Cut while still warm into 16 bars. (If you need more than 16 servings, double the recipe.)

Note: Substitute some peach or berry preserves for variety.

*****

Thought of the Week: It’s Friday already? Good grief! Slow down, world…Maybe, just maybe, I am trying to accomplish too much at this time of year? Perhaps there are some things on my to-do list that aren’t really essential?

Last night I chose not to make some brownies for my grandson’s second grade teacher, and my heart rate slowed down. This morning I dropped him off at school without too much guilt. If my daughter had been in town, the teacher might have received a Christmas treat. However, she wasn’t, and she didn’t ask me to do anything except take care of the children, which is what I have been doing since Tuesday. (The older two are in junior high and have too many teachers, anyway.) She’ll be getting back today, so I can get back to my to-do list…The tree’s up; the house is decorated; all the cards and packages have been sent out; and the mail carrier has received his cookies. There’s just a bit more baking, shopping, and wrapping to do.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

