Plump Raisin Oatmeal Cookies

Growing up, all we had for snacks were those little boxes of Sunmaid raisins and, by high school, they held no appeal to me whatsoever. I have avoided them ever since. However, Danny loves oatmeal raisin cookies, so I make them every winter. I just haven’t eaten any – until now. Last week, I substituted jumbo raisins of various colors for the small, dark, wrinkled ones. The difference was amazing! I have enjoyed several.

Recipe of the Week: Plump Raisin Oatmeal Cookies

1/2 c. (1 stick) butter plus 6 tbs., softened
3/4 c. firmly packed dark brown sugar
1/2 c. granulated sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
1-1/2 c. unbleached flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
sprinkle of salt
3 c. Quick Quaker Oats, uncooked
1 c. jumbo raisins

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F.
1. In large bowl, beat butter and sugars until creamy.
2. In measuring cup or small bowl, beat eggs with vanilla. Add to the creamy mixture and beat well.
3. Combine flour, cinnamon, baking soda/powder, and salt; add to creamy mixture and stir together thoroughly.
4. Add oats and raisins; mix well.
5. Drop dough by rounded tbs. onto ungreased cookie sheets.
6. Bake 10 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool 1 minute and remove to wire rack or waxed paper. Taste-test one, then cool the rest completely before storing in a tightly sealed container.

Thought of the Week: Yesterday, Danny’s business checkbook was stolen from his truck while he was inside our Canyon Lake bank. He didn’t realize it had happened, however, until he returned home and I asked for it to record his transactions. We couldn’t find it in the truck or house or garage. Danny said the parking lot was empty and he was only going to be a couple minutes, so he didn’t lock the truck like he usually does. And, instead of taking the checkbook in with him, as usual, he filled out the deposit slip in the truck and left the checkbook behind. He called the bank and the teller verified that he hadn’t had it with him when he made the deposit. Somebody must have been waiting nearby for the perfect set of circumstances to occur. What a drag!

So, we had to cancel the account, remove the funds, and open a new one just because someone was desperate enough at this time of year to steal. A police report won’t be of much use, except to document the event. The bank will call us if/when a check with a number from the list we gave them appears. Oh well, at least we had a checkbook that could be replaced. Hope 2012 is better for the person who needed to take Danny’s.

MERRY CHRISTMAS, HAPPY HANUKKAH, and FELIZ NAVIDAD, y’all!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Plump Raisin Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Lynne says:

    I wish I could have tasted those delicious cookies!!!!! Next time, give me a call! ha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

