“The Adventures of Tintin”

Friday, we took three of our grandchildren to see “The Adventures of Tintin,” an animated movie, which originated as a French comic book series in 1929. Tintin is a young Belgian reporter, who carries a gun and becomes involved in many adventures, mysteries, political thrillers, and science fiction tales over decades with his fox terrier Snowy (Milou in French).

In this introductory film by Paramount, Tintin’s adventure/trouble begins when he buys an old model ship, called The Unicorn. It turns out that there are three such ships and each contains a different piece of a puzzle/map that reveals the supposed hidden treasure of a sunken ship linked to a dastardly pirate. A very drunk Captain Haddock (Andy Serkis) of the ship Karaboudjan has been hired by the meanest seeker of all three clues, Ivan Ivanovitch Sakharine (Daniel Craig) to transport him, his underlings, and a kidnapped Tintin to the location of the third ship.

You can’t go wrong with anything Spielberg directs or is involved with. “The Adventures of Tintin” is no exception. A rip-roaring adventure by land, sea, and air for children over six, as well as adults. Looking forward to the many sequels!

Rating: 3.7 out of 5 stars.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

