Sometimes

*Sometimes I don’t want to wake up. My dream is too interesting; I want to find out what happens next. However, I don’t dream that often and, usually, it isn’t very intricate or complex, which has not always been the case…At the height of my depression, many years ago, I didn’t wake up for three days. Life was too painful and I had had enough, I guess. I retreated so far into dreamland that my dreams were three layers thick, dreaming of dreaming of having a different life. When I finally came out of it, I felt restored and capable of facing reality again, of resuming motherhood and family obligations, of returning to work. I may not have awakened with a grin on my face, but it was the beginning of the end of my depression.

*Sometimes a brilliant idea comes to mind, either from necessity or from discontent. I mull it around and offer it up to Danny. Sometimes he thinks it’s brilliant, too; sometimes he explains the reason(s) why it wouldn’t work, either logistically or morally. Sometimes he puzzles me, because most of my brilliant ideas stem from common sense. 🙂

*Sometimes, despite knowing I’m no poet, a poem spurts from my mind. I’ll jot it down, stare at it as if it’s some kind of weird bug, and wonder what the heck I think I’m doing…

In the wee hours of the morning,
Before dawn begins to break,
My mind’s as fresh as a just-baked cake.

It’s filled with thoughts aplenty,
While my body declines to wake,
Until I kick aside the covers with a disgusted, “Oh, for heaven’s sake!”

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes

  1. Bravely revealing about your depression. Looking at your surprised poem creation “like some kind of weird bug”, made me laugh. Not a bug necessarily, but I often look at some of my creations thinking “where the heck did that come from?” The Great Cosmic Belly Laugh, I suppose.

    Like

Leave a Reply

