Final Fantasy Football Fate

Well, my fantasy football team, NB Brawlers, came in 5th out of ten teams. I clinched a playoff spot with 9 wins/4 losses and 1506.84 points. In the first game of the playoffs, which was against my second son’s team, Dragons, I lost by over 24 points, although my score was 111.38. However, I won the final game against my daughter-in-law’s team, Number Crunchers, by over 16 points with 140.68 pts. The whole season I had triple digit scores and I still came in fifth! Player inconsistency brought me down!

My best, most consistent players were: Drew Brees/QB, Calvin Johnson/WR, Darren Sproles/RB, and Rob Gronkowski/TE. I made 19 moves throughout the season and acquired several guys I never heard of but who did well – sometimes:  Jordy Nelson/WR, Jabar Gaffney/WR, and James Jones/WR. My biggest disappointments were: Aaron Hernandez/TE, Ahmad Bradshaw/RB, Brandon Lloyd/WR, and Donald Brown/RB. Kicker Jason Hansen (DET) was okay, but the Houston Defense really let me down the last few games.

Our league used Yahoo! FF, again, and few of us were happy with it. We were not given injury reports in timely fashion, sometimes not until after games started. We had to wait two days to add/drop players. Yahoo!’s research stunk, too. Soooo many players were incredibly inconsistent that I propose we should be able to switch out the bench players with more points at the end of the week. All in favor of using the optimum player scores, say AYE! Also, if a player is injured in the first quarter, you should be able to replace him.

Weekly games wouldn’t be such “luck of the draw” situations,  if players were more consistent. It was very frustrating when a high point guy did lousy, especially after news that his team was going to pommel its opponent. I had no way of knowing if the opposing team’s defense had figured out how to stop my top guy until the game was underway. Rats!

Because individual players are what FF is all about, I have not kept an eye on or rooted for any particular team, and that’s a shame. I have missed out on many good games and have not followed NFL team stats as much as I used to. With Sunday’s last regular games of the season, I found myself scratching my head. Where had the 49ers come from? I had no idea they were 13-3, like the Saints and Patriots. Has Rodgers peaked too soon? Are a lot of the defensive teams worn out? Recent high scoring games appear to verify that. Why do New England, Baltimore, Green Bay, and San Francisco get a week off? Doesn’t that give them an unfair advantage against their Jan. 14-15 opponents?

http://www.nfl.com/playoffs/playoff-picture

At this point in time, I am not making any predictions about division winners or the Superbowl matchup. After this coming weekend’s games, I might be ready to make an announcement. Go Saints! 🙂

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

