Potatoes Rancheros

When I was a working mom, we rarely went out ot eat and there were no take-out places. I depended on Betty Crocker and Hamburger Helper for about three out of seven meals, because they were quick and easy and we were hungry. Here is one of our favorites…

Recipe of the Week: Potatoes Rancheros

1 pkg. Betty Crocker Au Gratin Potatoes
2-1/4 c. boiling water
1 c. Mexicorn, drained
2/3 c. milk
1/2 lb. Angus ground beef  (85/15 fat ratio)
salt, pepper, garlic powder,  1/2 c. chopped onion
1 c. shredded taco-seasoned cheese

Directions: Heat oven to 400 F.
1. Brown ground beef in skillet with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion. Drain.
2. Mix potatoes, sauce mix, water, corn, and milk in ungreased 2-qt. casserole.
3. Stir in browned beef mixture and 3/4 c. of the cheese.
4. Bake uncovered 30-35 minutes or until top is golden brown.
5. Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Place back in oven until cheese melts.
6. Serves 4, unless you have teenagers. Then you may want to double the recipe.
7. Serve with chips & dip and/or green salad with avocado.

Thought of the Week: This has been a bit of a rollercoaster week…Tuesday was a down day – Dad’s car wouldn’t start and I was called to rescue him, Mother, and my sister Lynne at a local restaurant. Wednesday was an up day for Dad (85), who had four pars and shot a 42 for nine holes, his best in a long time, and his car had been repaired, but a down day for Mom (83), who was abed with the flu. Thursday was a down day for all – we took Mom, who was having trouble breathing, to the hospital for a viral infection, lots of fluid in her lungs, and anemia. This morning, we learned she will need to remain hospitalized for a few days until her lungs are clear, but it is not a life threatening situation at this point and she does not need a blood transfusion. So, we’re up again – sort of.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

