Split Pea Soup with Ham

With Mom home from the hospital, my sisters and I have been taking turns cooking for her and Dad. For lunch today, I made some split pea soup yesterday. Danny tested it last night and pronounced it delicious and nutritious.

Recipe of the Week: Split Pea Soup with Ham

1 pkg. dried split peas, thoroughly rinsed
1 large carrot, peeled and diced
1 medium onion, finely diced
salt/pepper
3 tbs. butter
1 cup diced leftover ham or one ham hock/bone

Directions:
1. In large dutch oven add at least 8 cups of water and the peas, carrot, and onion. Sprinkle in salt and pepper. Bring to boil, lower heat but continue boiling for 30 minutes, covered.
2. Add ham, butter, seasoning packet. Simmer and cover for 30 minutes, if you want solid peas, or for 1 hour for soft peas.
3. Serve with crackers or garlic bread. For dinner, add a salad.

Option:  Slow cook all day.

*****

Thought of the Week: Lately, when I’ve gotten out and about near dawn and driven down the hill, where the sky opens up and trees aren’t in the way, the sunrises have been more defined. The colors of the rainbow less muted in the crisp winter air. I like it, but it does not stay around long enough. By the time I get back home to take a picture, the colors have been watered down by the sun and my narrow hilltop view does not do it justice. To get a perfect photo, I would have to stop in the middle of busy Mission Drive at just the right spot. Not going to happen.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

