“Haywire”

We just returned from seeing “Haywire” with Gina Carano, Michael Douglas, Ewan McGregor, Michael Fassbender, and Antonio Banderas. Gina Carano is a martial arts expert with awesome moves. In this debut movie, it was quite evident that her confidence comes from her physical abilities. Although we had never seen her before, we were wowed by her presence and stature.

Anyway, “Haywire” is an action-packed, international spy thriller you need to see on the big screen. Carano’s character, Mallory Kane, is a freelance covert operative who does her job expertly but is betrayed for lots and lots of money – of course. But she is not one to roll over and play dead. She doesn’t give up, she doesn’t give in, and she certainly doesn’t forgive and forget. She’s quite a character! (I wonder if Carano scared her co-stars?) Goodbye, Wonder Woman, Zena – Warrior Princess, and Lara Croft – Tomb Raider! This lady is the real deal.

Rating: 3.2 out of 5 stars.

 

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

