“Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy”

Zzzzzzz…B-b-b-boring. What a waste of good talent – Gary Oldman, Colin Firth, Zoltan Mucsi, John Hurt, Mark Strong, Toby Jones, and Benedict Cumberbatch – “Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy” was on such a droll production of the unenergetic novel of the same name by John le Carr! We chanced seeing it because of the cast and the thought that perhaps the movie would be tighter and more lively. Nope.

Oldman plays George Smiley, an aging spy and a droll, expressionless, cuckold Englishman very well – if you like that sort of character. Occasionally, a few seconds of violence and passion occurred here and there by the other actors. The Cold War, MI6, spies everywhere, and intrigue of the early 1970s, as presented in “Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy,” was much to do about nothing.

Had all the silences been edited out, at least an hour could have been shaved off the movie, but, even then, it would still have been slooooooooow. It’s not like we were expecting constant fast-paced action, but we went to sleep and didn’t even miss much. So, I can just imagine the actors having had to drink a gallon of caffeine or else joke a lot or hop up and down to stay alert during the filming. No need to memorize the script on this one!…If you are determined to see it anyway, go to a lower-priced matinee viewing – like we did – or wait for the DVD.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

