A Winter Day

*It’s been a while since I’ve had the time to be pensive. Hence, I haven’t posted any Miscellaneous Thoughts. It’s winter and one would think things would slow down, but that’s not quite true. There are more flus and colds to contend with. Mom was hospitalized with pneumonia, and we sisters took turns with her daily care once she came home. She is vunerable to any bacteria or virus because her immune system is nil, due to her cold agglutinin disease (http://www.coldagglutinindisease.org/coldagglutinins/.htm)  …One Tuesday she had a little cough. The next day she stayed in bed, and I made her and Dad some chicken soup. On that Thursday I took them to the emergency room because she was having trouble breathing. She was admitted with viral pneumonia. It was scary how it happened so fast.

*I love the sunshine when the air is crisp. I love being inside where it’s warm, when it’s cold outside. I prefer sleeping with the heater turned low, but Danny prefers the heater turned up. It’s funny but in California he was the warm one. No matter how cold it got at night, he kept me warm. Here in Texas, the tables have turned – I’m the one giving off heat, while he’s the one with cold feet. Weird!

*Danny had a stomach bug on Monday night that had him vomiting violently. I never heard anyone throw up so horrendously. Nothing stayed down, of course, and his temperature climbed to 101.3 by the next day. The vomiting stopped, but he had a terrible headache most of Tuesday. By Tuesday evening he was better and I was feeling yucky. However, I never went beyond being slightly nauseated, achy, and feverish, thank goodness. Today, I’m fine and dandy.

*I think that the flu shot I had in October has helped me avoid several colds/flu from manifesting. Although I have been exposed to sickness many times since then and felt something coming on, nothing much, aside from a cold sore, has occurred.

*Dad and I postponed our golfing until today because of the rain. Tuesday night there was a spectacular, long-lasting thunderstorm with torrential rain. I never heard thunder rumbling on and on like that before. Yesterday it was drippy and foggy. But today it’s glorious and I’m ready for our round of nine holes. Monday, we went to the driving range, where he gave me some tips. Now I’m eager to try them out. He may be sorry  – I might just beat him. 🙂

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

