“Red Devils”

George Lucas has been trying to get “Red Tails” made for over twenty years. Why? Because it is a very worthy, true story about the all African American fighter pilot squadron of WWII. Why has it taken so long? Because the cast is almost all African American, of course. Like the Buffalo Soldiers of the Old West, the Red Tails of WWII were segregated from the rest of the military units and treated as inferior. B.S.!

That said, however, “Red Tails” is not a spectacular movie by today’s standards. At best, it is just another example of how shamefully prejudiced Americans have been. These excellent pilots were real heroes, but the script seemed to be watered down and without much depth. There was never any mention of cameras on the planes, so where did the footage of their shooting up the German transport train and the lone destroyer come from? How did they create so much damage with such small machine guns? If it wasn’t for the good cast of current actors and the interracial relationship presented,  I would say that maybe Lucas made this film back in 1958 and just held onto it all this time. (Yes, I meant 1958 because it was that one-dimensional.)

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

