They’re Baaaaaaack

*For over two months, I have been passing by the strawberries at HEB. But yesterday, my heart almost stopped beating! There they were – ORGANIC ones! Oh joy! They were big and luscious and smelled heavenly…Since we lived on the northern California coast and passed the strawberry fields covered in black plastic with bromide gas being absorbed by the plants, I have shunned any non-organic strawberries. It has been very difficult, but to us strawberries have to taste like strawberries, not just be red. We don’t want to eat chemical-infused fruits and vegetables. Try the difference the next time you’re at the store – smell both the organic and the pesticided strawberries through the slits in the plastic containers. They’re worth the extra dollar and yummily enhance the fruit salads we have almost every evening.

*AT&T broadband sucks! I’m typing away or doing research and bam! the broadband connection is lost…Just did it again right now – for the third time in a half hour…Ticks me off!!!!! Just a mile away, in the historical district, we had U-Verse DSL, then we moved up the hill and were told, after installation/setup, they could not give it to us because of competition. They were not allowed to provide U-Verse everywhere, but they did not tell us that when they set us up at the new place. Nooooo, they took our two-year contract and our money and then told us that. Seems like cheating and manipulation to us. Plus, their copper-wire bundle had provided quite excellent television service, but their broadband bundle uses DirecTV, which is a big rip0ff. Our current contract is up in Sept., and I’m definitely going to search for better service at better pricing. In trying to reduce the number of bills I increased the number of hassles.

*It hasn’t been cold enough to keep the banana gnats away. Don’t know where they come from or how they get in the house, but one will fly around our faces when we’re eating or reading or computing, no matter how fresh the bananas are. Luckily, we’ve only been bugged by one at a time, but they’re sneaky and quick. I’ve been told that they also like sink disposals. Gross, man!…Oh dear, I just looked up some info on these pests, and it’s worse than I thought:  http://www.ehow.com/how_8628739_stop-banana-gnats.html . They are really fruit flies, and we’ve been very lucky to just have a stray one now and then.

*It has been a long time since we’ve seen a rainbow, but on Sunday afternoon, as we were returning home from the movies in San Antonio, there was a doosey of a rainbow. We had the sun behind us and the storm in front of us, as we traveled on Loop 410 and I-35 north. As we neared Schertz, the rainbow became a complete semi-circle, but I did not have the camera with me. Miraculously, it seemed, the bright inner rainbow was joined by an outer paler rainbow and they stayed with us all the way home, which is where I managed to snap these inadequate photos. I called the grandkids nearby and told them to go outside and look up at the sky. I could hear their excitement before they hung up.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

