Chicken Scaloppine

Wednesday night I had some boneless, skinless chicken thighs thawed out and opened one of the recipe books I had put together. The first entry under Entrees was Basic Chicken Scaloppine with a couple upgrades. So I went for the Sherried Mushroom upgrade. I fully intended to take pictures of the end-product, but by the time it was ready, Danny came home  and we were both famished. We gobbled them right down, along with some leftover scalloped potatoes, some steamed broccoli, a fresh fruit salad, and some Italian garlic bread. That seems to happen a lot with us – eating the food before I remember to take photos. Thus, you have the explanation for my frequent insertion of generic images with these recipe posts.

Recipe of the Week: Chicken Scallopini with Mushrooms

6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs (or 4 boneless, skinless breast halves)
1/2 c. flour
salt, pepper, garlic powder
4 tbs. olive oil
2 tbs. olive oil for sauce
6 oz. baby bella mushrooms, rinsed and quartered
2 tbs. minced shallots (or green onions, diced)
1/2 tsp. dried thyme
1/2 dry sherry
1/4 c. fat-skimmed chicken broth
3 tbs. whipping cream (or Half-n-Half coffee creamer)
2 tbs. cream cheese
1 tbs. chopped parsley (optional)

Directions:
1. Rinse and pat dry chicken. Scrape off any excess fat or bone chips. Sprinkle both sides lightly with salt/pepper and place between sheets of plastic wrap. With a mallet or rolling pin, gently pound chicken to an even 1/4 inch thick. Peel off wrap.
2. Put flour in a shallow container with sprinkle of salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Turn each piece of chicken in flour to lightly coat.
3. Heat a large non-stick skillet on medium-high and add 4 tbs. olive oil when hot. Place chicken in pan and brown on both sides. (If using breasts, cut into them and make sure they are no longer pink inside.) Turn off heat and cover skillet to keep chicken warm.
4. Add 2 tbs. olive oil, mushrooms, shallots, and thyme to small sauce pan. Heat and stir until sauted (4-5 minutes).
5. Add sherry, chicken broth, and creams to pan. Stir until cream cheese has melted and juices have slightly reduced. Pour over chicken pieces, cover, and simmer on medium-low for 20 minutes.
6. Sprinkle with parsley, if desired.

*****

Thought of the Week: Oddly enough, as I was preparing the above recipe, I was interrupted by a knock on the door. An unknown woman wanted to give my carpet a free cleaning, as well as a free roll of paper towels. I politely declined, and she mistook my lack of animosity for a being a pushover. Which is, unfortunately, too true, for I allowed her to finagle an appointment out of me for the next day. However, as yesterday’s appointment time neared, I wrote a quick note – “Dear Clean Carpet Lady – We aren’t interested. Best of luck at your next appointment.” – and taped it to the front door. Then, I took off on some errands, one of which was to buy a “NO SOLICITATION” sign.

On the way home, I meandered around for an extra 20 minutes to make sure I would miss her. My plan worked. The note was gone. However, I did not find a sign while I was out, so I’ll have to look elsewhere or make one. Soon.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken Scaloppine

  1. This sounds great. I hope to try it soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

