German Chocolate Cookies

Though brownies are yummy, I do not like traditional chocolate cake, the devil’s food kind, because of its coarse texture. Even when it’s part of an ice cream cake, I will turn it down. However, I have always liked German chocolate cake and its delectible coconut/pecan icing. While it’s still cold enough to use the oven, try these tasty cookies…

Recipe of the Week: German Chocolate Cookies

1 box German chocolate cake mix
1 c. milk chocolate chips
1/2 c. rolled oats
1/2 c. vegetable oil
2 eggs, slightly beaten
1/2 c. chopped pecans
1/2 c. flaked coconut

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F.
1. In large bowl, combine all ingredients; blend well. Drop dough by rounded teaspoonfuls 2″ apart onto ungreased cookie sheets.
2. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until set. Cool 1 minute before removing from cookie sheets to rack or waxed paper.

Options: a)Substitute jumbo raisins for the coconut. b)Forget the pecans and coconut, and add 1 tsp. almond extract to batter and top each cookie with 2 almond slivers.

*****

Thought of the Week: We awoke to rain, eaves dripping into shallow ditches formed by buckets of past drips. As I’m driving down the hill to fetch some taquitos, I pass a drenched, running woman. My first thought: That’s a good way to get sick. Then, I reconsider because of all the swim practices we had in cold or drizzly weather (only lightning kept us from practicing outdoors) without becoming ill.  My second thought: Can’t she give herself a break? I mean, dedication is all well and good, but is one day without running going to ruin her or anyone else? I don’t think so. My third thought: Why would someone knowingly soak themselves? Martyrdom? Stubbornness? I can see it – maybe – if it’s warm outside, but my gauge was showing 49 degrees. She wasn’t even wearing a hooded slicker! (shrug) Oh well – to each her own.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

