Beefy Rice

Danny and I have been battling colds all week, and yesterday was the first day I felt like going to the store or cooking. However, due to some transcribing, I did not get around to dinner preparations until six o’clock. A pound of natural Angus ground beef would have made good hamburgers, but the grill was out of propane. So I improvised with a box of Beef Rice-a-Roni, unable to stir my brain into anything more complicated. Danny, who is fond of gourmet food, was skeptical, but had three helpings and designated the entree “a keeper.”

Recipe of the Week:  Beefy Rice

1 pkg. Beef Rice-a-Roni
2 c. water
2 tbs. butter
1 lb. natural Angus ground beef (85/15)
1/4 c. onion, chopped
1 tbs. olive oil
salt, pepper, garlic powder, paprika
McCormick Grill Mates Montreal Steak seasoning

Directions:
1. In one skillet, start the Rice-a-Roni with butter as directed, stirring to keep the vermicelli from burning. Add the water and seasoning packet, stir, cover and simmer.
2. In another skillet, add the olive oil, meat and onions on medium heat. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, garlic powder, paprika, and Montreal Steak seasoning. Brown and stir, breaking up the meat to medium crumbles.
3. Drain meat and onions, add to rice mixture, mix together, recover and continue simmering another 15 minutes.
4. While that is simmering, complete the rest of your meal – a green vegetable or salad, fruit salad, and garlic bread or crescent rolls.

*****

Thought of the Week: Yesterday it was 90 degrees and humid, forcing us to run the A/C. This morning it is a dry, blustery 50 degrees. No wonder we’re ill! Our bodies are freaking out with such drastic temperature changes. However, I should have remembered: cold always follows hot in the winter here. But I have not been myself – I’ve been ssiicckk.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

