Family Fiesta Dish

It’s party time!!! Spring is here, babies are born, and it’s not hot yet. Let’s celebrate with this funky party dish. As you read the ingredients and prepare the meal, you may have doubts. However, with each forkful, your mouth will thank you.

Recipe of the Week: Funky Family Fiesta Dish

Instant rice
Meat sauce*
Bag of regular Fritos
Longhorn cheese, grated
Chopped lettuce, tomatoes, olives, green onions
Flaked coconut
Finely chopped nuts
Pace’s Picante Sauce

*Meat Sauce:
4 lbs. natural Angus ground beef                          1 can tomato paste
3 onions, chopped                                                    3 tbs. garlic salt
2 cans diced Mexican tomatoes                             4 tbs. chili powder
1 large can tomato sauce                                          1 can Ranch Style beans

Brown meat and onions, drain. Add tomatoes, tomato sauce, and tomato paste. Stir and add garlic salt, chili powder, and beans.

Cook 1 serving instant rice per person. Crush a bag of regular Fritos. Place each item in bowls and let everyone have the fun of building their own on-dish meal. They need to use all the ingredients no matter how funky it sounds. This is the order they should use (you might want to print it out on a large note card for your guests):
crushed Fritos
rice
meat sauce
grated cheese
chopped lettuce
chopped tomatoes
chopped green onions
chopped ripe olives
flaked coconut
finely chopped nuts
picante sauce

Note: To go more healthy, substitute Tostito Artisan Roasted Garlic & Black Bean chips for the Fritos; use low sodium Queso cheese, fat-free black beans, and salt-free tomato paste and sauce. Also, you can substitute ground turkey for the beef.

Thought of the Week: Yesterday my baby brother became a grandfather. His older daughter gave birth (the natural way) to a titan, a 9 lb. 9 oz. boy. He ties the record for largest baby in our family with my second son and goes straight into size 3-6 mo. baby clothes. All my babies were big (8 lbs. 14 oz., 9 lbs. 9 oz., and 9 lbs. 2.5 oz.), born naturally,  and I have proudly held our family’s birth-weight record for 43 years. However, it is a record I gladly share with my niece and precious son. I can’t wait to hold him!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

